Agony of a lucky draw winner


A month back i reached home, tired after a hectic day at office. Picked up my snail mails from the drop box on the way to my apartment. I was trying to make myself comfortable in the drawing room when i opened this letter from a leading bank in India. I have this habit of skipping thru words of a letter while only picking up the meaningful and noisy ones. Suddenly i saw something which was obviously unbelievable.

I tried to concentrate on those words but still i saw the same words. well, then i decided i must read the letter completely. I went thru the letter twice to understand and accept that i had won a car which the bank had offered me as a prize.πŸ™‚ Wow!!! I didn’t know how to react, can’t explain how i was feeling at that moment, i did’t know how i was supposed to feel.

But anyways, the letter said i was a winner. But what did i do to win it? I don’t remember picking up any lottery tickets anywhere, neither did i enroll myself for any lucky draw. So i started doubting the authenticity of the letter. Next day i went to the local branch of the bank to confirm. They checked the letter and approved it. Hmm…so i indeed won the car. woooow… i had never won a single penny when i tried my luck myself but won a car when i never bothered about it. Apparently i was auto-enrolled for lucky draw because of some transactions i did on my debit card.

The letter didn’t mention anything about the process to get the car. It only asked to contact Customer Care to get more info. I called them up but they were clueless. The asked me to scan my letter and send them for them to be able to proceed further. I don’t have a scanner. So i called up the contact person mentioned in the letter (fortunately). Few days passed by as he was on leave. The letter said i need to send a draft of certain amount as TDS to the bank. Upon receiving it the bank will send me a gift voucher of Hyundai India which can be claimed against a car.

Obviously the car on offer is the lowest model of Santro. Since i already own one, i have no interest in taking another. So first thing i asked this person was if i could get the money directly instead of car. He flatly refused. Good, i liked that. But he also said that i can choose a Hyundai dealer and he will directly send the money to him. Once the money reaches the dealer its upto me and the dealer as to how we go about the deal.

So i rushed to the nearby dealers to enquire. All of them refused to give me money but agreed to patch me to their used-car department to sell off the car. They estimated a 1 lac reduction on the price for the resale transaction.😦 Now i was in dilemma on how to go about it. Amidst of all these i sent a DD to the bank for the TDS amount so that they can proceed with the formalities.

I started exploring the possibilities of buying the car in other states where my relatives stay, so that selling it will be easy. After the bank received the money, the sent me a mail saying “this is a pan india offer and we will soon let you know when you can pick up the car.” This added to further my confusion. So i tried to speak to one of their executives.

This time the bank person gave a totally new picture of the whole issue. She said i have to go for the model that the bank is offering me. I can not pay extra money from my pocket and upgrade to a higher model which will be easier to sell. I will also have to pick up the car in Bangalore only, not any other state since my registered address with the bank is of Bangalore.

These answers completely overturns what they have been telling earlier. Different people within the same bank are talking different things. One person seems to be very flexible while the other is equally rigid. There seems to be no formal process in place to handle these kind of issues. So things are going on the assigned persons own discretion’s.😦 No wonder i have lost all the charm and feelings of being a luck draw winner.

However, this brings some Qs to my mind. Even after being an educated person i am being taken for a ride so far. What happens to poor / uneducated people when they win such draws? God only knows. Thats the very reason i decided to ink my experiences. This will come to aid the future lucky draw winners. Good luck pals.πŸ™‚

7 comments

  1. This is the first time someone I knew won anything worthwhile. Congrats Amit. But, sad to know about your situation right now. What is your plan now?

  2. I finally got the car delivered to me. It took me exactly three months, 10-15 mails, 10 odd STD calls and at least 20 odd local calls to achieve this. Also i had to spend around 1.5 lacs (ie, 1 lac towards TDS and 50k towards registration, insurance and other tax) from my pocket.

    I still have not received the TDS certificate from the bank to fill in my tax returns.

  3. i want to know whether these bangalore lucky draws are fake or real . i have won a splender bike as they send me a message that i have won it . wen i called on that no. they said that i have to pay 5500/- to avail my gift . bt aftr reading dis i think dat dis is fake bt i really want to knw whether they give us our prizes or not dat i have won in bangalore lucky draw … plz tell and suggest me……………….

  4. i to hav got the mag regarding bike want to know whether these bangalore lucky draws are fake or real . i have won a splender bike as they send me a message that i have won it . wen i called on that no. they said that i have to pay 5500/- to avail my gift . bt aftr reading dis i think dat dis is fake bt i really want to knw whether they give us our prizes or not dat i have won in bangalore lucky draw … plz tell and suggest me……………….

Leave a Reply

